Thursday, March 26, 2009

Lack of technology or what?

In a recent article I read that a mere 1.5 percent of hospitals nationwide are using some kind of electronic health record system.

Now I wonder if this is a good thing or a bad thing? I understand not wanting too much of your personal information out on some kind of database for just anyone to access. But really people all of your information is out there, what would this change.

Recently I found out that most companies could easily obtain a credit report regarding any of their customers if they can show that you owe them some kind of money. Just like collection agencies can look at your credit report. And that holds tons of personal information, social security numbers, all you’re past addresses, etc. And not only that these people don’t care who you are and they don’t care about your information.

You wonder why there is such a problem with identity theft – all of our information is right there for whoever wants it.

Back on the subject of hospitals though – is it good or bad? On the other side it could be beneficial if you are in an accident that they can pull up some kind of record on you anywhere.

“The federal stimulus package recently signed into law contains $19 billion for hospitals to adopt the technology and incentives for doctors to use it, with the hope that getting data online will improve patient care and save time and money.”

Right now larger hospitals in urban areas and teaching hospitals are the ones most likely to have electronic records but recently announced wal-mart in their sams club locations will begin selling medical record software. I guess we’ll have to follow this to see if this will be a good addition or a bad move.

No comments:

Post a Comment